2010 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Finalized

Winner to be Announced Feb. 1

2010 Ford C. Frick Award Final Ballot Bios

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Ten of baseball’s most beloved and honored broadcasters were named today as the finalists for the 2010 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The 10 finalists for the 2010 Frick Award are: Billy Berroa, Skip Caray, Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet, Lanny Frattare, Graham McNamee, Jon Miller, Joe Nuxhall, Herb Score and Dave Van Horne. The winner of the 2010 Frick Award will be announced Feb. 1 and honored during the July 23-26 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend in Cooperstown.

Mel Allen (left) and Red Barber were the first recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

The 10 finalists for the 2010 Frick Award include the three fan selections produced during online balloting at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site – www.facebook.com/baseballhall – throughout December. A total of 15,505 votes were cast.

For the second consecutive year, Cheek, Doucet and Nuxhall earned spots on the final Frick Award ballot via fan voting online. Cheek paced all broadcasters in fan voting with 5,930 votes. Doucet was second in the fan balloting with 5,183 votes and Nuxhall followed with 1,363 votes.

Final voting for the 2010 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 15 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, 2009 Frick Award winner Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of NY Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

The 10 finalists: Berroa began announcing Major League Baseball games in 1963 and spent 17 years with the Mets (1987-93; 1997-2007) as a Spanish radio and TV announcer; Caray broadcast Braves games on TBS for 33 years (1976-2008) became part of the first three-generation call of a game in 1991 with his father (and 1989 Frick Award winner) Harry Caray and his son Skip Caray; Cheek’s resume includes 32 major league seasons covering the Montreal Expos (1974-’76) and Toronto Blue Jays (1977-2004), the last 28 seasons as the Jays’ radio play-by-play man, before his death during the 2005 season; Doucet spent his entire 34 year career broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network; Frattare spent 33 years (1976-2008) with the Pirates, establishing the longest tenure as a radio broadcaster with the club, surpassing 1986 Ford Frick Award winner Bob Prince, who broadcast for 29 years; McNamee was a national pioneer in sports broadcasting, calling games for 13 seasons for Westinghouse and NBC, also calling 12 World Series; Miller has worked 32 seasons with the Rangers (1978-79), Red Sox (1980-82), Orioles 1983-96 and Giants (1997-present) and has also been the lead voice on ESPN’s Sunday Night Baseball telecasts for the last 20 years; Nuxhall spent 38 years with the Reds (1967-2004), and totaled 53 years with Reds as a former major league pitcher and broadcaster, before his passing in 2007; Score broadcast Indians games for 34 years (1964-97), the last 30 as the Indians’ play-by-play voice; Van Horne has spent 42 years in broadcasting for the Montreal Expos (1968-2000) and Florida Marlins (2001-present), the last nine in Florida, following 33 seasons in Montreal as the English voice.

Miller and Van Horne are the only active broadcasters on the ballot. Doucet and Frattare are the only other living candidates. Additional biographical information on the 10 finalists can be found at www.baseballhall.org. Voting members will cast their votes by mail in January.

Voters are asked to base their selections on the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. In 2009, more than 200 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the award, with bios of each candidate appearing at the Hall of Fame’s Web site.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner. Past recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award:


1978 Mel Allen 1988 Lindsey Nelson 1999  Arch McDonald
Red Barber 1989 Haray Caray 2000 Marty Brennaman
1979 Rob Elson 1990 By Saam 2001  Felo Ramirez
1980 Russ Hodges 1991 Joe Garagiola 2002  Harry Kalas
1981 Ernie Harwell 1992 Milo Hamilton 2003  Bob Uecker
1982 Vin Scully 1993 Chuck Thompson 2004  Lon Simmons
1983 Jack Brickhouse 1994 Bob Murphy 2005 Jerry Coleman
1984 Curty Gowdy 1995 Bob Wolff 2006 Gene Elston
1985 Buck Canel 1996 Herb Carneal 2007 Denny Matthews
1986 Bob Prince 1997 Jimmy Dudley 2008 Dave Niehaus
1987 Jack Buck 1998 Jaime Jarrin 2009 Tony Kubek

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is an independent not-for-profit educational institution, dedicated to fostering an appreciation of the historical development of baseball and its impact on our culture by collecting, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting its collections for a global audience as well as honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to our National Pastime.

The Museum's collections contain more than 37,000 three-dimensional artifacts representing all facets of the game, from its inception in the mid-19th century to present. Three-dimensional artifacts include bats, baseballs, uniforms, player equipment, ballpark artifacts, awards, artwork, textiles, tickets, collectibles and assorted memorabilia. In addition, the Institution’s archives contain in excess of 135,000 Baseball cards and three million Library items, including photographs, books, magazines, newspaper clippings, films, video and audio tapes.

Located on Main Street in the heart of picturesque Cooperstown, New York, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is one of the country’s major tourist destinations and is surely the best-known sports shrine in the world. Opening its doors for the first time on June 12, 1939, the Hall of Fame has stood as the definitive repository of the game’s treasures and as a symbol of the most profound individual honor bestowed on an athlete. It is every fan’s "Field of Dreams," with its stories, legends and magic to be passed on from generation to generation.

Open seven days a week the year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day, the Hall of Fame is open from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. until Memorial Day Weekend. Summer hours extend until Labor Day, from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. daily. Ticket prices are $16.50 for adults (13 and over), $11 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $6 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children six years of age or younger, active and retired card-carrying military personnel. For more information, visit our Web site at www.baseballhalloffame.org or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

25 Main Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone: 1-888-HALL-OF-FAME | Fax: 607-547-2044
Email the Hall of Fame

Copyright 2010 National Baseball Hall of Fame