Frick Award Ballot Voting Under Way 

Fan Vote Will Place Three Names on Final Ballot

December 1, 2009


Thousands of baseball fans have already used Facebook to stay connected to their heroes at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Now, baseball fans can nominate their favorite broadcaster for the Hall of Fame’s prestigious Ford C. Frick Award through the Museum’s Facebook presence, now through Dec. 31.

Mel Allen and Red Barber were the first recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award when they shared the honors in 1978. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

Online voting for fan selections for the 2010 Frick Award began at 10 a.m. EST on Tuesday, Dec. 1 at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site and will conclude at 5 p.m. EST on Dec. 31 (in order to vote, fans must have an account and be logged in to Facebook). The top three fan selections from votes tallied at the site during December will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award. The 2010 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate, with the winner to be announced in early February.

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. Fans will have the opportunity to select from more than 200 broadcasters eligible for consideration for the 2010 Ford C. Frick Award. Bios of each candidate are available on

The final 2010 Frick Award ballot will feature 10 names, comprised of the top three fan selections along with seven other candidates to be determined by a Hall of Fame research team.

The Frick electorate includes all living Award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame. The voting electorate consists of 20 members, featuring 2009 Ford C. Frick Award winner Tony Kubek and the other 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members also part of the electorate include: Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

This marks the seventh year the Hall of Fame will include three fan selections on its final Frick Award ballot. In 2009, a record 145,138 votes were cast online, with former Cincinnati Reds announcer Joe Nuxhall leading all vote-getters with 19,547 votes. Former Expos announcer Jacques Doucet (10,282) and former Toronto announcer Tom Cheek (8,992) also earned spots on the 2009 final ballot. Vote totals will appear on the Facebook poll, but are not accurate.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. from the day after Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend. Memorial Day through From Labor Day, the Museum is open from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. Ticket prices are $16.50 for adults (13 and over), $11 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $6 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger. For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

25 Main Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone: 1-888-HALL-OF-FAME | Fax: 607-547-2044
Email the Hall of Fame

Copyright 2010 National Baseball Hall of Fame