2011 Ford C. Frick Award

2010 Ford C. Frick Award winner Jon Miller spent over 30 years broadcating for the Athletics, Rangers, Red Sox, Orioles Giants and ESPN Sunday Night Baseball. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

Presented by the National Baseball Hall of Fame for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award serves to honor legends like Mel Allen, Red Barber, Vin Scully and Jack Buck who are among the 34 previous winners. The annual winner is honored with the newest Hall of Famers at the Induction Ceremony each summer in Cooperstown and is represented in the Museum in the Scribes and Mikemen exhibit.

2010 Frick Award winner Jon Miller will join other past recipients and an appointed research team in selecting the 2011 honoree. Ten finalists will be voted on in January and the winner will be announced in February.

Fans have the opportunity to help influence the final ballot by voting for their favorite broadcaster on Facebook. Fan voting will select three candidates to appear on the final ballot. A minimum of 10 years of continuous major league service with a club, network, or combination thereof is required to appear on the ballot. Electors are asked to base their selections on four criteria: (1) longevity; (2) continuity with a club; (3) honors, including awards and national assignments, such as the World Series and All Star-Games; and (4) popularity with the fans. Vote your choice for the Frick Award now on Facebook.


National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

25 Main Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone: 1-888-HALL-OF-FAME | Fax: 607-547-2044 | Email the Hall of Fame
Privacy Statement/Your California Privacy Rights
Terms of Use 
Like us on Facebook       Follow us on Twitter      Subscribe to us on YouTube     Connect with us on LinkedIn